The Last Weekend on the Front Lines!

 

image

Caden’s City Hall. Caen was known as the city of 100 bell towers before WWII. Many were lost in the bombing

image

Typical architecture of Normandy

image

Our home away from our homes away from home

I’m about to wrap things up here in Caen, so one last post before I leave for Spain! Not sure how available wifi will be once we’re on the Camino. I’ll try to include highlights that I haven’t before. You can always get more of the gritty details at my Facebook page. It’s just so easy to dump stuff there. When I’m here I have to think through what I’m doing, and at this point thinking in any language is not one of my strong points!

image

The whole gang having lunch together: Pauline, Michelle, Julie, Léa, and Johanna. We miss you, Florine and Sarah!

image

Johanna (from Sweden via Belgium) mans her post!

image

Sometimes people would line up two hours before a competition. The guy in red is security – in charge of moving barriers to let the crowd in. But he would yell at me if I held up his line while handing out brochures. They take line management seriously in France!

image

Once they let in the frenzied mob the guys in green would scan tickets. Through experiences like this I learned how to say “this is completely f’d up!” in French. (C’est le bordelle! bordelle=bordello) This guy was a Québécois now living in Savannah, GA

image

One of the little things we provided- wristbands for children with the parent’s phone number.

image

People working inside the stadium had a serious emergency with a rider down. Our emergency? The guy making sandwiches outside our booth cut his finger! So we called the Croix Rouge!

image

Meanwhile back at the expo Breyer did not miss the opportunity to sell 10€ ($13) horse blankets with the 2014 Games logo for model horses!

image

The Pony Tail Bar at the expo (just a gimmick to get you in the booth)

image

Pieric – one of the shows for children at the expo

I

image

Beezie Madden jumps the windmill jump. You can see the Camembert jump behind her – painted like a cow

 

image

One of my favorite jumps – a triple. From Lexington, KY to Caen, Normandy to …

image

… To Bromont, QC

image

Canadian jumping fans!

image

Bought this American scarf at a British beach (Gold Beach) in France so people would know to expect less than perfect French out of my mouth. And some guy had the nerve to ask if I was German!

image

Meanwhile back at the racetrack people were tearing down fencing to take a look at the driving marathon!

image

This shot was taken through a hole in the fence!

image

Typical view from my booth at the end of the day.

image

Typical end of the day for the Dutch team -at the tapas bar!

image

One of the reasons for a Dutch celebration – gold in both individual and team jumping. Patrice Delaveau of France took silver and Beezie Madden of the USA took bronze. However, her horse Cortes C took the top horse award for jumping four clear rounds with four different riders!

image

The back yard at home. Patrice complained about all the hazelnuts that fell from the tree!

image

Packing all my loot!

image

Agathe (on the day she left for her first year of college), Fabienne, and Patrice

I can’t say enough about how wonderful this family made my stay. From taking me to the stadium for early morning shifts to playing tour guide at the beaches of Normandy, I got way more than expected from airbnb.com!

 

image

My proof of participation and a parting gift!

Next stop, Spain!

2 thoughts on “The Last Weekend on the Front Lines!

Leave a comment